Premed 101 Forums

Speciality Choices

Hello,

As an incoming medical student I am starting to think about my plans and future for the next 4 years. I understand the importance of figuring out what you want to do as early as possible seeing how competitive residencies are getting. My question is - how do you figure it out?!? I know there are classical starting points like medicine vs. surgery, but how does one even know without having seen these specialities first hand? I know most of the learning will come within the hospitals but are there any resources or tips out there to help start my search? Does shadowing really help narrow things down and if so, is it easy to shadow in medical school? 

I found shadowing easy enough at my medical school. As a staff I don't mind having learners shadow either. I think it is hard for students to gain a sense of what they like pre-clerkship. Pathologies that sound interesting on paper and in the classroom may not be that fun to deal with on a daily basis as your fulltime job. 

I think shadowing and asking residents/staff about what they like/dislike about their job might be a good starting point. Unfortunately, people do change as they grow older and their priorities shift. What you love as a medical student may not be what you love as a resident or as a staff physician. I would suggest keeping an open mind and finding a field where you would be okay with the bread and butter (80+ percent) of the job. 

It is also important to note that academic vs community practices can be very different and I think a lot of the exposure you get as a medical student is skewed towards academic practice which can inaccurately push you towards or away from a field.