Premed 101 Forums

IMG looking to practice medicine in Canada

Hello everyone! I am a Mexican physician whom was recently given his license, and was wondering how difficult it is to join the medical workforce in Canada. I have seen some information about different exams which I have to pass, but I also have many questions regarding the providence sponsorship program.

• 2 years later...

Hello, 

I can only speak to recruitment to Alberta. There are multiple immigration routes available to physicians in Alberta, and as there is a shortage of physician resource supply, hundreds of IMG physicians are recruited into AB each year. Alberta Health Services- Alberta's one single provincial healthcare organization has an experienced and dedicated physician recruitment team with expertise in Immigration and Licensure.  

1. Apply for a physician position at drjobsalberta.ca for Alberta's provincial healthcare organization- Alberta Health Services (AHS). If you are the successful candidate, in order to support Canadian or permanent residents to apply the position must legally be posted for 30 days. If there are no Canadian/Permanent Resident candidates that are suitable for the position within that 30 days, it indicates that there is a need for a foreign worker to fill the position. 

2. AHS submits a Labor Market Impact Assessment (LMIA- AHS pays the $1K cost). Alberta has a priority stream for healthcare workers and LMIA's are processed in 10 days. 

3. Positive or approved LMIA's are valid for 18 months to allow for you to apply for a 5 year work permit or permanent residency within that time. At the port of entry/Canada border (wherever you cross into Canada) you apply for your 18 month work permit there using the positive LMIA, fully signed AHS employment contract, and a completed online application (Guide 5487- Applying for a work permit outside Canada). The port of entry officer will assess the application and issue the permit on the spot.