Premed 101 Forums

Home school advantage in FM

Hi!

I am wondering if the home school advantage is something to consider for someone that wants to do residency in Qc in FM specifically. I see from acrms data that people seem to match at a higher rate at the med school where they studied. Should I consider this? I am starting med school in the fall and I have 2 options right now.

Option 1: USherbrooke campus on the south shore of Montreal but with only one hospital not to far from home. I have kids and a partner so I cannot move for my residency so matching to another, much farther site from usherbrooke is not an option. This is a 4 year program which is great since I am way older than traditionnal applicants.

Option 2:Then there is a Umontreal where there are a lot of potential residency sites that are a resonable distance from home. 5 year program. I am super used to it since I did my undergrad and master there and could do the clinical part at a hospital 5 minutes from home (so 3 years at the university, which is 1 hour from home, and final 2 years super close.) 

I would like to go with option 1 for the shorter program but the tough of not matching at the hospital linked to that university and then not matching at any UMontreal site close to home is stressing me out. Should I choose option 2 since there are probably more chance to be close to home for residency with the home school advantage?

So I guess that my question is, is it reasonable to think that I could match to Umontreal if I dont match to the Usherbrooke site close to home? Are there people here that had that experience of being able to match somewhere else where you did not do your md program? Is there something that can help, like doing some rotation at other university where you are interested in matching? Lets say I go with option 1 and do some rotatins in option 2, would that help?

Thank you so much for your insight!