Premed 101 Forums

I know that stats/requirements can be researched for each school, but does anyone know how competitive physiotherapy programs are in ON?

I have heard of some med school hopefuls applying to PT as a backup and just wondering if anyone can elaborate on the typical GPA/amount of ECs etc that you find are needed to get accepted.

Thanks

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I know for PT school at Western you need at least 50 hours of volunteer work helping people with some kind "movement impairments". I think that's how they worded it. Hospital volunteering hours where you are not helping people with those specific impairments do not count, but of course, you should e-mail the admissions office there and ask her about your specific case.

I'm a kinesiology student, and many of my fellow peers who have good GPA's (3.7-3.8) have applied. They (about 6 people I can think of off the top of my head) also have done Co-op and have a huge amount of hours involved with PT related activities. With that being said, I think it should be pretty competitive. However, there is NO interview required, which is a bonus if you do not like engaging in interviews.

Western's requirement is 50 hours with anyone with a physical or cognitive disability.

MacMaster does have an interview for PT and OT... they do the MMI.

I think to be reasonably competitive from what I gathered from many friends when I was doing Kin at Western.... you're looking at a 3.7+ (people get in with lower, but the average acceptance is somewhere above there).

OT.. is more on the 3.6ish side. With the rare exception, all the gpas are calculated based on your most recent 10.0 credits (2 full years).

Western's requirement is 50 hours with anyone with a physical or cognitive disability.

MacMaster does have an interview for PT and OT... they do the MMI.