Premed 101 Forums

Transfering residency from USA

dh1986

Hello everyone,

I am in my first year at a residency program in the USA, but I have some urgent family reasons that require me to move to Canada. So I am hoping to be able to transfer to a residency program there. I am very familiar with CaRMS and I know there are only a few provinces I can apply to via CaRMS.

Does anyone know of the transfer process from the USA to Canada? Has it been done? Who should I contact? My PD is very supportive, should I ask him to contact a PD there?

Thanks

Transferring is impossible internationally. You need to go through Carms. Residency positions are provincially funded, and the policy is strict on this. Money is allocated fairly firmly to you and your initial position at PGY1. There is no money allocated by provinces for new transfers.

In the rare situation a resident may transfer within the same province. That's how tight the situation is. Transfers even within a school are very difficult, nevermind a province or another country.

Transferring is impossible internationally. You need to go through Carms. Residency positions are provincially funded, and the policy is strict on this. Money is allocated fairly firmly to you and your initial position at PGY1. There is no money allocated by provinces for new transfers.

In the rare situation a resident may transfer within the same province. That's how tight the situation is. Transfers even within a school are very difficult, nevermind a province or another country.

The bolded is definitely not true - I know of at least two residents who have successfully, and at different points in their residency, transferred between provinces. It certainly sounds more difficult (because of the provincial funding issues), but far from impossible.