Premed 101 Forums

I Screwed Up, Do I Still Have A Chance?

I'm currently in my 3rd year and I faced straight rejections this year with a mediocre GPA of 3.89. It was discouraging at first as it always is with rejections, but I was determined to bring up my GPA and increase my chances for next year. I got a 4.0 in my first semester this year and was confident I'd be able to maintain it until I received my grades for this semester and saw that I received a 2.7 in one of my courses. I was absolutely shocked. I went to see my final and because of one stupid mistake on one question that was worth the most marks, I screwed up my entire mark for the course. I feel devastated right now and I haven't been able to properly eat or sleep this past week. I worked so hard this entire year balancing my extracurriculars and academics on top of having to commute 4 hours a day. I don't even know how this happened as I genuinely studied for the course and never made a mistake so disastrous before. I know it might seem like I'm overreacting right now, but it's honestly been so hard for me to face this as I've never received a mark this low before. I was also 0.5% away from receiving a 3.0 and my prof refused to give it to me, even though I actually had reason for it. I don't mean to seem like a grade grubber or anything, but there was legitimately merit for it and my prof is known to be hardass with this kind of stuff. Anyway, are my chances completely ruined for this upcoming application cycle or do I still have a shot? I already don't have a chance at most schools because of my CARS score. My overall MCAT score is 514: 130 (Chem)/130 (Psych)/128 (Bio)/126 (CARS). I'm also still waiting on 2 of my marks for this semester, so who knows how those went. And I know most schools put more weight on 3rd and 4th year which makes me really worried.