Premed 101 Forums

Need advice RE potential options moving forward

medonedayyyyy

32 minutes ago, medonedayyyyy said:

I have an amazing PhD opportunity lined up for the fall semester.

I am 100% biased but I would say go for it!!! 

The rejections sting a bit less when you are studying toward your PhD versus when you are doing a second undergrad, because you know you are moving foward with your life and you develop new skills, are paid, can plan an alternative career, lots of EC opportunities, etc (but again I'm super biased because I was miserable in undergrad).

Also if you speak french and are a quebec resident, at the end of your PhD you can apply in a special contingent at francophone schools and the GPA cut-off is  lower (I got in Laval with a GPA of 3.6/4) and they will look at your CV and research publications/presentations.

Just FYI I had an interview at McGill in 2017 with a GPA of 3.6 I was 1st year PhD with a Masters and 4 publications (1 first author). Then they chose to give less weight to the CV and I never got invited again... 

Thank you both for your kind responses. You are also both very great candidates and I really hope you attain your end goals (I am confident you will as long as you keep trying). 

@LGMed2021 I think your path aligns beautifully with your goals. No matter what, just keep trying and do not give up. That is nice to know RE: the PhD at French schools. Because my undergrad is in psychology (3.88/4.3) I currently do not stand a chance. However, if that changes with a PhD that can totally be a great option to look at. 

@MédicomageI really hope you are right regarding the pandemic! But thank you. I do think the PhD may be the better option especially that I love what I am doing (vs. the undergrad in which I was pretty unhappy). 

@Al22 Thank you so much ! I am so sorry about you rejections, but I am happy to read that you made it to Ulaval! Your path brought you to where you are meant to be!