Premed 101 Forums

3 minutes ago, takasugi said:

Hey,

I'm a 1st year student at McMaster. I'm getting braces (more so for a functional issue rather than aesthetic) but this will require appointments every 4-7ish weeks with my orthodontist. My orthodontist is about an hour from where I go to school so I would have to take either a morning or afternoon off to attend these appointments every once in a while. Is this possible during clerkship? 

You should expect to schedule these on days when you are not working or when you are post call. I'm sure you could take a day off if you needed, but usually it wouldn't be granted unless its impossible to schedule in your off time. Check with the policy of your individual school.

1 minute ago, robclem21 said:

You should expect to schedule these on days when you are not working or when you are post call. I'm sure you could take a day off if you needed, but usually it wouldn't be granted unless its impossible to schedule in your off time. Check with the policy of your individual school.

Do we get days off during weekdays though? Do post-call days ever end up on weekdays? (sorry I'm dumb)

Just now, takasugi said:

Do we get days off during weekdays though? Do post-call days ever end up on weekdays? (sorry I'm dumb)

It depends on your individual schedule. On certain rotations like EM, you may have days off during the week, or certain days where there is teaching scheduled (and may leave your afternoon free). Post-call days would be any day after you finish working overnight and can fall on any day of the week.

6 minutes ago, robclem21 said:

It depends on your individual schedule. On certain rotations like EM, you may have days off during the week, or certain days where there is teaching scheduled (and may leave your afternoon free). Post-call days would be any day after you finish working overnight and can fall on any day of the week.