Premed 101 Forums

How To Buy And Sell Stocks In Canada?

sggh665

Hey guys. Just as an interest, I want to invest some of my money in the stock market (not too much - just around $3000). I've never done anything like this before so can someone tell me which program or website I can use to try it?

I just want to try it for fun :)

Thanks!

Yes, you can set up a trading account through any of the major Canadian Banks and build your portfolio.

Hey guys. Just as an interest, I want to invest some of my money in the stock market (not too much - just around $3000). I've never done anything like this before so can someone tell me which program or website I can use to try it?

I just want to try it for fun :)

Thanks!

$3000 is a decent chunk of change.  Are you at a stage in your life that you can part with it?

As mentioned above, any of the big 5 banks would be happy to set up a trading account for you.  There are also discount brokers that will charge you less commission per trade than the traditional houses.

Any reason you don't want to just play around with phantom money?  I get that it's not as "real" as having skin in the game, but if you're at the point where you're asking a very basic question about the stock market my suggestion would be to give yourself a virtual budget of $10k or so, pick a few stocks you're interested in and keep a spreadsheet that records virtual profits and losses.  Play the stock market that way while you educate yourself a bit more.

We're in very weird times, economically speaking.  My opinion is that any approach to the markets should be a cautious one.

/Usual disclaimer = my accountant knows CPR, but I would never let her run an in-hospital cardiac arrest.  Talk to a financial professional if you want an authoritative opinion.

$3000 is a decent chunk of change.  Are you at a stage in your life that you can part with it?