Premed 101 Forums

Should I Write The Mcat? -

Hi guys, 

I finished my second year at McGill and was planning on studying and writing the MCAT this summer, until it hit me today... Should I even spend so much time and effort to do the MCAT if I have a good enough chance for McGill Med?

So the real question is, do I have a good enough chance for McGill Med?  

I'm an in-province student, my cGPA is currently 3.96, I would expect it to stay the same after my 3rd year, and it will certainly drop the 4th year because I'm doing some courses that are impossible to get A then. 

- I am a business major, with a minor in science, and my science pre-req GPA is close to 4.0 (only 1 course with 3.7, 4.0 for all the other pre-reqs)

- My ECs are very poor, I think. I have hospital volunteering (not significant hours), academic tutoring, the standard grade 8 piano, high school concert band, a few shadowing experience, and that's it?

- I have quite a lot of working experiences however, in many restaurants, I also worked as an Undergraduate TA for some business classes. I will have an internship at a public accounting firm next summer 

How much does McGill care about ECs if one has a high GPA?

Writing the MCAT will allow me to earn a spot in Ontario med schools, but it will be a significant commitment for the summer because I will have to re-learn everything (even tho I've learned a lot of the content from the science pre-reqs). 

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Ellen, 

I'm actually in a similar situation to you. How comfortable are you in applying to the french universities (UdeM, UdeS, ULaval)? If you are only banking on McGill, then I would definitely write the MCATs, without a doubt. Your GPA is definitely good enough for McGill, but your ECs below average. To get an interview spot they evaluate you 30% CV/Personal statement and 70%. Even if your ECs were stellar, I'd still recommend you write the MCATs. You need more than one option.