Premed 101 Forums

A bad match

Hello all, 

I am currently in a very unenviable position, but I'll make a long story short. 

I'm a first year resident at McGill (I'm not going to say which program because I want to remain anonymous). 

In CaRMS 2019 the program's description stated that French is not a requirement but is an asset. Given this, despite having zero French, I still applied. There was no screening for French fluency involved in the admission process. In my interview for the program I was asked, "parlez-vous le francais?" to which I responded with the French version of "I do not speak French but I am excited to learn," and then I immediately switched back to English. I presumed that if the program did not want an anglophone resident then they would not rank me and that McGill was probably well-versed in dealing with anglophone residents from elsewhere in Canada. With this in mind and thinking that it might be cool to live in Montreal and that McGill is reputed to be a very good medical school, I ranked this program first and I matched here.