Premed 101 Forums

How to get an academic letter of reference (Non-traditional)

After 3 unsuccessful years of applying to only one school that didn't require letters of references, I recognize I've shot myself in the foot by not being more proactive throughout undergrad and making myself a strong applicant in other aspects besides achieving a decent GPA/MCAT. I understand that I made a mistake not applying broadly in the past but I've accepted that I'm in this for the long haul and want to take the right steps moving forward. Any recommendations on what steps to take in regards to finding someone from the academic setting to write me a good letter of recommendation? I foolishly did not make an effort to get to know my profs and have not worked under any as I have no research experience. When I wasn't studying I was working and volunteering so I have options getting letters in those areas but it seems a lot of schools want one from a science professor or lecturer. For context I graduated with a BSc. in 2019 (3.9-4.0 GPA, 511 MCAT)

Would It be appropriate to email old profs whose classes I did exceptionally well in, and offer them some sort of volunteering service for their research in return for a letter? or is that too much? Any tips would be great and I'm willing to do whatever it takes. I understand I may need to go back to school and meet profs but that wouldn't help for this upcoming application cycle.

I wouldn't approach a prof by saying you'd do lab volunteering if they give you a letter. Not a good idea. But if you want to reach out and do work with them then sure. And then later you ask for a letter. Also, take a look at the OMSAS website. It says letters have to be from 1. Academic or employment-related 2. Non academic 3. Any of your choosing. So you might not technically need a professor to write you a letter. I might be wrong but thats what the website shows. Best to email OMSAS or specific schools to clear that out 

1 hour ago, premed72 said: