Premed 101 Forums

"Studying Medicine"

ubc_earnestw

Hey,

Completely random question but was just curious if any other medical students have had the same experience. Every time someone asks what I'm taking in school, I reply with "I'm studying medicine at UBC". I'm not sure if people from Vancouver are particularly dense, but many people can't seem to equate this to becoming a doctor. Would saying something like "I'm in medical school at UBC" be more clear?

Some responses I have gotten were:

"Oh my cousin is studying medicine too. She works at shoppers and counts pills all day and really dislikes her job" (No offense to Pharm students here...I am just writing what I heard)

"Cool. So you're going to work for a company to make new drugs?"

"So what will you do after you graduate?" (I realize even with a full understanding of what an MD is this is still a legit question...but it was the tone of the question that seemed to imply that she did not understand that I would be becoming a doctor)

I tend to say, "I'm in medical school," when people ask me what I'm doing. This often leads to one of the following two responses: "Oh, so you're going to be a nurse!" or "And what are you taking in medical school?" So no, I don't think that you'll necessarily get the point across any better if you start telling people you're in medical school rather than that you're studying medicine. :)

I avoid these conversations, as it appears about 90% of the population is "studying medicine." This appears to include high school students, nursing students, acupuncture students, and animal technicians, among others.

I try my best to avoid these questions as well. I don't disclose that I'm in medical school unless someone asks me. This is mainly because I don't want people to label me as "doctor" and treat me differently or even worse, get the misconception that I am bragging.