Premed 101 Forums

Sabbatical year at the end of preclinical years, before clerkship years (between M2-M3)

Hi. I am a medical student (last year of preclinical years) and thinking about taking a sabbatical next year (before clerkship), since my faculty offers the possibility (I study in Quebec). Med school have been really hard on me mentally and I just need a break (I feel burned out) and try to figure out who I am and what are my passions in life beside medicine. I am planning on travelling and learn to be active (I am not fit and I would like to learn sports). I have always wanted to be a doctor and I have been working on that goal for my whole life and I never took time to actually discover myself and my other passions. I entered med school at a really young age (early 18 yo) and I never actually lived my life. I am writing this because I want to hear the experience of anyone who took a sabbatical and if he/she regretted it. I know for sure that I wanna go into family medicine and I would like to know if the sabbatical year could affect my CARMS. 

P.S: Pour les francophones, vous pouvez répondre en français :)

Thank you in advance :) Merci à tous!

On 11/3/2021 at 7:21 AM, bearded frog said:

maybe. At the very least come up with a better reason then needing a break from medical school...

« A better reason »... Euhm, I think that having mental health problems and being burned out is a good reason for taking a break. I do not appreciate people who minimise the effect of what poor mental health can do to someone... Anywhoo thanks.

16 hours ago, Medfam20 said:

« A better reason »... Euhm, I think that having mental health problems and being burned out is a good reason for taking a break. I do not appreciate people who minimise the effect of what poor mental health can do to someone... Anywhoo thanks.