Premed 101 Forums

Unsure if I stand a chance at any low tier USMDs or DO schools

After 3 unsuccessful cycles applying to Canada Ive been preparing to give USMD and USDO schools a shot (will try Ireland, UK and Auz as well) but the more I look into it I don't know If I even stand a chance at low tier USMD's or DO schools. My stats are okay, (3.9 GPA and 511 MCAT) but obviously not exceptional as an international applicant. My main concern however is that besides volunteering in a hospital during high school I have no clinical or research experience. I don't plan on pursuing research but wish to gain some more healthcare experience. I haven't had any luck volunteering in a clinical setting (due to COVID) or attaining a clinical job since I graduated in 2019. I understand schools will be a little more lenient with this because of COVID but even before the pandemic I made a sad effort to gain that experience. I was recently hired as a virtual medical scribe but haven't started working yet so cant include it in my applications and even if I could I don't think it'll pass clinical experience due to its virtual nature, but its better than nothing.

Do I have even the slightest chance of getting an interview with an average MCAT score, minimal clinical experience, no shadowing and zero research as an international applicant to low tier USMD's and USDO schools? 

Regardless, if anyone has any ideas how I can gain some clinical experience sooner than later let me know. I am considering applying to some medically related technical diplomas/certificates but wont be able to use it on my applications until I complete it and start working 2-3 years from now.

12 hours ago, bearded frog said:

Your GPA is great, but US values MCAT even more than Canada so may struggle there. Could find some love in USDO. Have you reattempted the MCAT? With a better MCAT and a year of research you might have luck in Canada.