Premed 101 Forums

Would writing that I've been a dishwasher after uni be detrimental to my application?

I graduated 3 years ago from UBC biology. I'm currently running 2 jobs, one of which is a dishwasher for a restaurant.

I'm not going to try to embellish the position in the description from what it really is. I'm doing it to make ends meet and save more money for additional schooling. Would the adcoms think negatively of this position thinking that I'm just not trying to find a job? I've just gotten used to the looks on people's faces when I tell them what I do for a living after graduating from UBC over the years, but it is one of my longer commitments.

Although many doctors come from upper and middle class families and didn’t have to work everyday jobs before Med school, many doctors have slung lattes, washed dishes, waited tables, painted houses, roofed, etc. to make money before/during/after university. You’re not alone there.

Definitely include it. You don’t need to embellish, but it does help I think to spin these sorts of gigs (and any entry) in a positive way by mentioning the aspects of the job you actually enjoy, if any - e.g. maybe you enjoy the fast-paced environment and collegiality in the kitchen (I know I did, at least some of the time)

4 hours ago, marine said:

I graduated 3 years ago from UBC biology. I'm currently running 2 jobs, one of which is a dishwasher for a restaurant.

I'm not going to try to embellish the position in the description from what it really is. I'm doing it to make ends meet and save more money for additional schooling. Would the adcoms think negatively of this position thinking that I'm just not trying to find a job? I've just gotten used to the looks on people's faces when I tell them what I do for a living after graduating from UBC over the years, but it is one of my longer commitments.