Premed 101 Forums

Students who bought luxury cars during clerkship, how do you feel about them now?

Hello everyone, I'm probably being stubborn, but I'm really interested in picking up a used luxury car once I reach the point where public transit no longer fills my needs (like in clerkship). To anyone who did this, or knows people who did, please let me know how these anecdotal experiences went. If my plan is unwise, I need emotional persuasion away from it, more than the usual "cars are depreciating assets" rhetoric, I've already seen that on a thousand other webpages.

I'm afraid that if I don't fulfil that car dream now, by the time I'm settled in as a fully-fledged physician my youth and appeal of a luxury car will be gone. By that time, I'll probably also start have competing priorities and have already spent money on a cheap car, on insurance, and on fixed costs like parking and gas. I'm not too fussed about taking less vacations nor do I think I want to retire early or buy an excessively large house. The last point about the house is particularly important because I live in Vancouver and enjoy apartments more - meaning any property that I do eventually buy would likely also have a not-insignificant monthly strata fee; I'm quite content to rent a smaller space at this point in time. I often see threads talking about spending less money on cars because they're a depreciating asset, while also saying that vacations are an appropriate way to spend money (even though vacations themselves can't be considered assets).